Salzburg (help·info) is the fourth-largest city in Austria and the capital of the federal
state of Salzburg. Salzburg's "Old Town" with its world famous baroque architecture is
one of the best-preserved city centres in the German-speaking world, and was listed as a
UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1997. The city is noted for its Alpine setting. It is the
birthplace of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and the setting for parts of the musical and film
The Sound of Music, which features famous landmarks in Austria, but focuses mainly on